top of page

The ClarkCo Firecracker Clash brought the Fireworks to Carteret Speedway on July 6th!

PELETIER, NC - Saturday Night’s Firecracker Clash was sponsored by ClarkCo Construction. The track celebrated America’s 248th Birthday Weekend with lots of Patriotism and fantastic edge of your seat racing! The ClarkCo Team was on hand passing out swag to the fans. Jordyn and Karmyn Cox represented the company on the frontstretch and told the impressive crowd about the company and how long they had been in business.  Fans were also entertained by the music of Little Cecil on the front stretch during the Driver Meet N’ Greet Pre-Race, Air Force Veteran, Dolly Witt sang the National Anthem, track owner Bob Lowery gave the opening invocation and then it was time to go racing.

The first race of the night was the Junior Mini Cups for 15 laps.  Michael Bivens took the win over Keagan Abrams.

Next up was the 25 Lap U-Car Feature!  Logan McCallister led all 25 laps from the pole.  Michael Ludwig and Haiden Thomas rounded out the top three.

The Mini Stocks ran 25 laps and despite starting in the back of the field, Brandon Clements left little doubt that he was the fastest car on the track.  Zac Reimer was second and it was a great night for Abby Jolly as she led some laps and finished third.

The Bombers took us to intermission with  a 20 lap race and a great field of 12 cars!  Charlie Mercer was the winner over Greg Walston and Brady Price. Marion “Papa Smurf” Williams was recognized in our Bomber Division as he had just celebrated his 82nd birthday.

The intermission entertained the crowd as the kid’s push cars took over the track for family excitement! A strong field of 9 teams ran a tight race on the front stretch! Next up was the exciting bike race ran with a field of kids aged 9 to teen with the winner receiving $50! More winners were pulled for the flag numbers with our winner’s receiving $20!

After the fun Intermission, it was time for The Legends to take over the track for 25 laps!  Brenton Irving held off a strong field of cars with Scotty Benford, who had worked all week replacing a blown engine, and Aiden McConnaughey finishing in the top three.

The final exciting race of the night was The Chargers running for hard charging 40 laps!  At the end of the race as fireworks lit up the night sky, it was Michael O’Brien winning by a nose over Gator Williams and David Barnes.

Our next event will be Saturday, July 20th, it will be the Night of Destruction and don’t forget about the Classic Rock Festival featuring Kiss Alive, ZZ Top Notch and THORN on July 27th.

All the details can be found on Facebook, Instagram at

Jr Mini Cups:

1) #97 Michael Bivens, 2) #6 Keagan Abrams


1) #01 Charlie Mercer, 2) #90 Greg Walston, 3) #32 Brady Price, 4) #14 Joey Vereen, 5) #87 Justin Rountree, 6) #77S Richard Smith, 7) #34W Michael Withrow, 8) #77 Marion "Papa Smurf" Williams,  9) #67 Edward Piercey, 10) #34 Matthew Newman, 11) #9 Deanna Stancill, 12) #07 Johnathan Thompson


1) #19 Logan McCallister, 2) #13m Michael Ludwig, 3) #22 Haiden Thomas, 4) #21 Dustin Jolly, 5) #03 Cornell Williams, 6) #5 Haley Brown, 7) #58 Summer Sullivan, 8) #28 Bubba Parker


1) #B1 Brenton Irving, 2) #51 Scotty Benford, 3) #71 Aiden McConnaughey, 4) #5B Charlie Beals, 5) #6 Austin Eckert, 6) #25 George Phillips, 7) #28 Oliver Missner, 8) #G7 Colby Gurganus, 9) #2 Greg Farley, 10) #99 Carsyn Gillikin

Mini Stock:

1) #7 Brandon Clements, 2) #23 Zac Reimer, 3) #11 Abby Jolly, 5) #4X Chad Cunningham


1) #21B Michael O'Brien, 2) #71 Gator Williams, 3) #21 David Barnes, 4) #18 Matthew Gurganus

102 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page