top of page

Stacy Puryear Captures Emotional Win and Big Paycheck in Race of Champions

Mother Nature tried to damper the green flag but a festive crowd of race fans was in the Christmas Spirit at Bobby Watson’s Carteret County Speedway for the Solid Rock Carriers Race of Champions. Santa Claus was there greeting race fans and finding out if they had been naughty or nice. Fans from near and far brought an abundance of toys for our toy drive and settled in to watch history being made right before their very eyes.

The much anticipated event drew drivers from Florida to Maryland, Kentucky to Virginia, and many from our home state of North Carolina. The best of the best were on hand Saturday night at America’s Nicest Short Track and, albeit slightly delayed due to inclement weather the day before, the fans were treated to one of the best nights of racing Carteret County Speedway has ever hosted.