top of page

Newsome Hoping To Ride A Five Win Streak To Big Money Late Model Championship

It’s “Go Time” at Bobby Watson’s Carteret County Speedway as the season race for points, championships and names etched on the wall of champions is reaching the finish line.

One driver, in particular, Dylan Newsome who pilots a Solid Rock Carriers Big Money Late Model, has positioned himself for a huge season ending payday!

Newsome has won each of the last five Late Model races at Carteret County Speedway to build an 11 point lead over Daniel Vuncannon as they head into the September 24th 100 lap showdown during the Bobby Watson Memorial.

“We built this car from scratch a year ago and it took some tuning and testing but it’s become a rocketship” according to Newsome.

While Newsome may have the inside track on the season championship he’s still in a battle because the top four Late Model drivers are separated by just 14-points. “While points are a big plus,” say’s Newsome, “We always go to win, that has to be the mindset”.

The Solid Rock Carriers Big Money Late Model Race of Champions will be on December 11th with $10,000 to win. In addition, the season points championship ends that day and the season champion qualifies for another $10,000! You talk about incentives!

However, before any money is handed out there’s still some serious racing starting on Saturday September 24th and a Late Model 100 lap tester as part of the Bobby Watson Memorial at Carteret County Speedway. Here are the Late Model season point standings heading into Saturday’s big showdown:

Solid Rock Carriers Big Money Late Model

  1. Dylan Newsome 57

  2. Daniel Vuncannon 46

  3. Tristan McKee 45

  4. Jody Measamer 44

Season point championships are on the line for other divisions as well, the first of which to be decided will be the Chargers on October 1st. Michael O’Brien owns a 12-point lead over Gator Williams 54-to-42 with Matthew Gurganus at 37.

Again a reminder, save your wristband from our September 24th racing night for half off general admission price on October 1st.

The remainder of the division season championships will be decided on October 22nd during the Halloween Bash. Here are the current standings:


  1. Brenton Trving 75

  2. Scotty Benford 64

  3. DJ Murphy 62

  4. George Phillips 59

Mini Stocks

  1. Neil Mason 54

  2. Robert Strmiska 30

  3. Brantly Dawson 27

Street Socks

  1. Tyler Smith 56

  2. Dennis Woehrle 43

  3. Seve Wales 41


1.Dustin Jolly 72

2. Steve Sullivan 61

3. Andrew Jackson 38


  1. Cornell Williams 66

  2. Brian Gooden 40

  3. Joey Vereen 36

Junior Min Cup

  1. Colby Garganus 91

  2. Anthony Ventresca 76

  3. Alexis Steffan 75

  4. Michael Bivens 72

For the complete points standings log onto and click on “Drivers”.

259 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page